Kent's last day of work before retirement was yesterday, and today we are already on the road!
Heading first to Maryland to spend time with Erich, Dylan and Pete.
Took a short detour to see a couple spots along the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal, which ran along the Potomac River from Washington, DC to Cumberland, MD for 184.5 miles. Construction began in 1828, and the canal was opened for service in 1831. The final section to Cumberland was completed in 1850, and the canal was in use until 1924. A section to connect to the Ohio River was never built.
|The C&O Canal towpath at McCoy's Ferry|
|Now the ferry site is a boat ramp|
|The culvert allowed a road to pass under the canal|
|Beautiful blue sky|
The lockhouse was lodging for the lockkeeper and his family. This one has been rehabilitated and furnished in 1920s style, and is rented to overnight guests.
Most of the locks were 16 feet deep, and each of the four locks here had a lift of 8-1/4 feet.
Onward to Washington, DC.
Our Fishers Fry dinners came with a unique peanut-cider slaw, and a fresh version of creamed corn.
|Lock 50 (1838)|
|Kent shows the depth of the lock at Lock 49 (1838)|
|Looking back at Lock 49|
|Lock 48 (1838) is filled in|
|Lock 47 (1837)|
|Flory House, one of the few remaining buildings|
from the community surrounding the Four Locks
|The ice rink at Washington Harbour|
|A penguin-assist for young skaters|
|Kent by the outdoor seating of the|
Farmers Fishers Bakers
|Display case in Farmers Fishers Bakers|